Continuing Certification Requirements - Update 2015


IMPORTANT NEWS – Updates to the CCR Program

On December 1, 2015, the PMI updated the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program to ensure PMI certification holders are equipped to remain relevant in a continually changing business environment.

The new system updates require certification holders to focus their learning in the areas of technical project management skills, leadership skills and strategic and business management skills — the PMI Talent Triangle

The new CCR program continues to require you to earn and submit 60 professional development units (PDUs) for PMP, PgMP, PfMP and PMI-PBA (or 30 PDUs for PMI-ACP, PMI-RMP or PMI-SP) over a three-year cycle. You are required to earn a minimum number of education PDUs among employer-identified skill sets. The system also gives you the flexibility to determine what is most relevant for your development among the employer-identified skill sets. In addition to earning traditional education PDUs, credential holders still have the opportunity to earn PDUs by giving back to the profession through using their skills as a practitioner and volunteering, creating knowledge, and working as a professional.

There are different renewal requirements for the Education and Giving Back categories based on the expiration date of the certification cycle. The table below shows these different renewal requirements:

Beginning 1 December 2015

Certification Expiration Date:

1 December 2015 –

30 November 2017

1 December 2017

and Beyond

Classify PDUs according to new CCR format.



Meet minimum number of PDUs in Education category and each of the three skill areas.   This is required for renewal.



Limit Giving Back category PDUs to new maximum requirement.




*In the table above note that compliance with the new format is encouraged, but not mandatory to renew during the current cycle. In future cycles, the new CCR program requirements must be satisfied to maintain active certification status.

To support the new CCR system, the WMPMI Programs team plan Professional Development Meeting (PDM) events to cover the three main focus areas from The PMI Triangle with equal attention. This provides the best opportunity for those attending the PDMs (Chapter Meetings) to attain the minimum requirements for Education PDUs.

Full details of the new program can be found at the link below. It will also be covered at the Annual Meeting in May and in the May edition of the WMPMI Newsletter.

This provides guidance on all types of CCRs/PDUs and we should be using this in our response to the recent questions regarding assisting the schools.  See pages 12 and 13 for the “Giving Back” info.


See FAQs for more information: